RSS Feed

The Ten Days of Onam

There is a popular Christmas song here that goes thus:

“On the first day of Christmas my true love sent to me

A partridge in a pear tree.”

And it goes on till the twelfth day, tallying the various gifts sent by one’s true love.  When I heard this song last Christmas, it suggested to me an excellent way to teach my kids about Onam and the various traditions associated with this festival close to the Mallu’s heart. Being far away from the land of Onam, we NRIs need to resort to such gimmicks to pass on our traditions to the next gen. So here’s my attempt at the Onam version of

The Twelve Days of Christmas:

The Ten Days of Onam (Reloaded for the NRI Kid)

On the first day of Atham Maveli brought to me

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.webindia123.com

On the second day of Chithira Maveli brought to me

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.flickrhivemind.net

On the third day of Chothi Maveli brought to me

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.pranithworld.blogspot.com.

On the fourth day of Vishagham Maveli brought to me

Four Oonjals,

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.mallu-outlaw.xanga.com

On the fifth day of Anizham Maveli brought to me

Five Onappottans,

Four Oonjals,

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.yentha.com.

On the sixth day of Thrikketta Maveli brought to me

Six Thiruvathira dancers,

Five Onappottans,

Four Oonjals,

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.thiruvathirapaattukal.com

On the seventh day of Moolam Maveli brought to me

Seven Chundanvallams,

Six Thiruvathira dancers,

Five Onappottans,

Four Oonjals,

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.en.wikipedia.com

On the eighth day of Pooradam Maveli brought to me

Eight Onavillu,

Seven Chundanvallams,

Six Thiruvathira dancers,

Five Onappottans,

Four Oonjals,

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.yentha.com

On the ninth day of Uthradam Maveli brought to me

Nine bowls of Adaprathaman,

Eight Onavillu,

Seven Chundanvallams,

Six Thiruvathira dancers,

Five Onappottans,

Four Oonjals,

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.tasteofmykerala.blogspot.com.

On the tenth day of Thiruvonam Maveli brought to me

Ten Onakkodis,

Nine bowls of Adaprathaman,

Eight Onavillu,

Seven Chundanvallams,

Six Thiruvathira dancers,

Five Onappottans,

Four Oonjals,

Three Sarkkara Upperis,

Two Thumbapoos and

One Onathappan for my Athapookkalam.

image courtesy:www.simplymalayalees.com

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Festive Mood « The Girl With The Scorpio Tattoo

  2. Pingback: Onam | Manu Kurup

Leave a Reply

